Betty Crocker Hot Dog Cheesies Recipe

Betty Crocker Hot Dog Cheesies recipe is very reminiscent of today’s Pinterest recipe for the Crescent Hot Dog and Cheese filled Cresent Rolls recipe we see being dubbed “Kid Friendly”; except it involves plain white bread instead of the crescent roll.Have you ever noticed many of the recipes we often think are new and trendy are actually spin-offs of recipes from our parent’s era?

Would I make this for my children today? I am going to have to answer this with not likely, Why you ask? Now before I answer this and get in hot water with a few of you parents for being a food snob, I don’t eat white bread or American cheese. I hate the way American cheese tastes and the way white bread feels in my mouth. Nothing personal directed at any parents, no babbling about nutrition no no’s; I just don’t like either or ingredient.

However, if I could change a few ingredients I would make this. What would I change? I’m glad you asked. I would go for a soft rye or pumpernickel, lacy Swiss cheese, and all beef hot dogs. You bet your bottom dollar that I would make in a heartbeat.

Would you make this for your children? If so would you change anything? What would you change about the McCall’s 1979 Hot Dog Cheesies? Let me know, I love hearing from you all and look forward to reading your comments and suggestions.

 

Betty Crocker Hot Dog Cheesies
  • 8 frankfurters (hot dogs)
  • 8 slices of bread
  • softened butter
  • prepared mustard
  • 8 slices of American cheese
  • plus 1/4 of a cup melted butter

 

Directions for recipe
  1. Drop into a saucepan of boiling water (2 cups) 8 frankfurters
    Lower heat; cover and simmer 5 to 8 minutes
  2. Spread 1 side of 8 slices bread with soft butter, prepared mustard
  3. Place bread slices on baking sheet.
  4. Top each slice with 1 slice process American cheese
  5. Place a frankfurter on top of each cheese slice. Fold over to make a triangle shape. Fasten with wooden picks. Melt in a small pan over low heat 1/4 cup butter.
  6. Brush each triangle with the melted butter.
  7. Set control to broil and/or 550°.
  8. Broil sandwiches with tops 4 to5 inches from heat about 2 minutes or until golden brown, 8 servings.

Serve with mugs of piping hot vegetable soup.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

